Teeswater, ON

The community of Teeswater began to take form in 1856 when the owners of farm lots 15 and 16 on concessions 6 and 7 of Culross Township had a survey made of a portion of their farm lots dividing them into village lots. The first mill dam was erected in the summer of 1855, and in the fall of that year a sawmill was also operating. These mills, with ample water power, along with the establishment of a post office in September 1856, set the foundation of the development of the village. The railway reached Teeswater in 1874. On June 5, 1874, Bruce County Council passed a by-law authorizing Teeswater’s incorporation as a village, which became effective on June 1, 1875.

In 1998, the Township of Culross and the Village of Teeswater amalgamated to form the Township of Teeswater-Culross. The following year, Mildmay-Carrick amalgamated with Teeswater-Culross to form South Bruce, choosing Teeswater as the seat of the municipality.

Robertson, Norman. “The History of the County of Bruce and of the minor municipalities therein.” Toronto: William Briggs, 1906.
McLeod, Norman. “The History of the County of Bruce 1907-1968”, vol 2, Bruce County Historical Society, 1969. Print.


Abram, William Irwin
Aitchinson, Cleveland
Ballagh, Leslie Robert
Bannerman, Andrew
Bannerman, William Ernest
Barbour, Frank Leslie
Barbour, John L.
Becking, Harvey Willie
Bolton, Lambert
Brick, Alexander Alphonse
Chadwick, Henry ("Harry") McLean
Channing, John Richard
Chapman, William
Clitheroe, Walter
Colvin, David George
Cronin, Timothy David
Detheridge, Audrey Florence (Armstrong)
Dieter, John George
Donahue, Melville Anderson
Donald, Clarence
Donald, Clarence C.
Donaldson, William
Edgar, Frank Stanley
Elliott, Robert James
Fairbairn, Thomas Gordon
Farquharson, Norman William
Fear, Thornton Douglas
Ferguson, George Dugald
Fidler, Albert
Fraser, Harold
Freeman, Bert
Gallagher, Robert John
Good, John
Green, Alvin Albert
Haldenby, Clarence
Harper, Earl William Henry
Hendry, Lovat James
Hewitt, Elwood
Higgins, William John
Hughes, George
Hughes, George Alexander
Jackson, Edward Ray
Jackson, William
Keith, William George
Kieffer, Simon P.
King, Robert Hector
King, Thomas Richard
Langley, Walter Frederick
Lawrence, James Nathaniel
Lawrence, John Benjamin
Lewis, Herbert Clarke
Lidster, George Alvin
Lindsay, William Sampson
Linklater, Kenneth Harvey
Little, James Clow
Mahoney, Henry Roscoe
Marshall, George Victor
McBurney, Harry Alexander
McDonald, George Ernest
McGlynn, Maude C.
McKague, James McLean
McKay, Robert Ernest
McKinnon, James
McPherson, Ian
Melhuish, Alan George James
Meyer, Victor Louis
Moore, Ernest Edward
Moore, Frank Simpson
Murray, Peter Alphonsus
Olheiser, Walter Linus
Parker, Henry Alfred
Petteplace, Vincent Neil William
Rawn, William Washington
Read, Alfred
Reid, Andrew Bonar
Reinhart, Fred Joseph
Rising, Robert
Ross, Elmor Erb
Schnurr, Andrew Joseph
Schnurr, George Joseph
Scott, Peter
Scott, Stewart
Simpson, Frederick James
Sinden, Sydney Percy
Smeltzer, Gordon Elgin
Smith, Blakeney Alexander
Smith, Charles Edward
Smith, Thomas
Smith, William John
Smith, William Lorne
Smith, William Robert
Stewart, Donald Wilfred
Stewart, Evan Alexander
Stewart, Samuel Gordon
Thornton, Bertram Truman
Trautman, Louis Matthew
Vince, Frederick
Willie, Robert James
Worrall, Albert J.