Saugeen Township, ON

The Township of Saugeen is the smallest township in Bruce County. Its name loosely translates to “mouth of the river”. It borders on Arran and Elderslie Townships in the east, on Bruce Township in the southwest, and on the waters of Lake Huron in the northwest. There are no villages within the township’s boundaries.

The survey of Saugeen Township into farm lots was commissioned in 1851. In the early years, the town of Southampton and the village of Port Elgin formed an integral part of the township. At an early date in the history of the county, Saugeen Township was of sufficient importance to be one of the first two townships to be created into a separate municipality.

It held its first municipal election in January 1854.

In 1998, Saugeen Township amalgamated with the towns of Port Elgin and Southampton to form the Town of Saugeen Shores.


Ahkewenzie, Leslie
Atkinson, Roy Campbell
Bain, Andrew Sutherland
Begg, James Stuart
Bell, Duncan
Bell, Sidney
Beresford, Laird Redford
Black, Ralph George
Boddy, John Thompson
Boyle, Ernest
Breckow, Howard August
Brooks, George Albert
Buckley, John Albert
Bulger, Thomas Charles
Cairns, Norman Orville
Cairns, William
Campbell, John
Carson, Frederick James
Carson, William Harry
Christian, Arthur Minion
Christie, Oliver
Clark, Malcolm
Clark, Pryse
Clazie, Edward William
Clazie, John "Jack"
Courtnell, Frederick
Craig, Robert Elroy
Crosswell, Charles Henry
Cummings, Gordon
Currie, John James
deRoux (nee Sees), Kathleen Thelma
Donaldson, William Charles
Eagles, Clarence Gordon
Eaton, George Andrew
Eby, Garfield
Eidt, Vera
Ernst, Llyod Sylvester
Fenton, Admiral James
Fleming, Andrew Barrie
Fleming, Samuel
Foster, James Clyde
France, Melvin Graham
Fraser, Luella Blanche (Lee)
Geddes, John Rowand
Giesz, Wesley
Gilbert, Charles Morris
Gowanlock, James Laidlaw
Gowanlock, Robert George
Grasser, Ivan
Gregg, John Alexander
Grieve, John Gordon
Haggins, Andrew V.H.
Hammond, George
Hammond, Helen Mary (Smith)
Harman, Stanley Milton
Harrison, Laurence Tolmy
Hendry, Earl James
Hendry, William John
Hettrick, Norman Gilbert
Howe, John Amer
Jackson, Thomas
Jamieson, John McMillan
Jamieson, S.
Johns, E.
Johns, Maurice
Jones, James Edward
Joshua, Arthur Henry
Kewenzie / Akiwenzie / Ahkewenzie, Isaac
Kidd, William Elijah
Knechtel, Arthur
Knechtel, Clayton
Knechtel, Orland
Koepke, Gordon Royal
Lamont, Donald McTavish
Leeder, Arthur Iden
Leeder, Herbert Nicholas
Lyness, Llewyllan Wilbert
MacRitchie, Murdo Murray
Mallow, Menno W.
Marshall, Harold Edwin
McArthur, Harvey Jacob
McGillivray, Donald Duncan
McIntyre, Donald (Dan)
McKechnie, William B.
McKenzie, Allan
McLeod, Elizabeth Nora Campbell
McNabb, Alexander
Meyer (Meyers), Albert (Bert) Henry
Miller, James
Mitchell, Elias
Moulton, Morris Alexander
Muir, George Harris
Muir, John Francis (Jack)
Nawash, Daniel
Nawash, Stafford David
Nickel, Clarence John
Nunn, Joseph
Parr, Arthur Howard
Peirson, a.k.a. Pierson, John
Plaunte / Plant, Reuben
Pringle, George Alfred
Reany, Richard Roy
Reinhart, Irvin Emery
Riebel, Albert Edwin
Riebel, William Eugene
Ritchie, Peter
Robinson, Cleveland
Saleman, James Henry
Saunders, Gordon Lewis
Schell, Lawrence Robert
Schwalm, Arthur Wesley
Scott, Patrick John
Scott, William Sumner
Seabrook, Harold Stanley
Shields, John William
Signock, Daniel
Solomon, Matthew
Sparling, Clifford Roy
Stewart, Alexander Esplen
Stoddart, James Douglas
Sturgeon, John Reginald (Jack)
Sutherland, Angus George
Switzer, George Edward
Switzer, Milford William
Teahan, John Patrick
Thompson, R.
Tranter, Joseph "Lionel"
Tranter, Josiah
Tranter, William
Tranter, William Victor
Tuckfield, Francis Edward
Vaupel, Frederick Leroy
Vaupel, Raymond Ernest
Vernon, Oscar D.
Wahbagana, Elijah
Wallace, James Scott
Wentworth, Ralph Skilton
Willoughby, William Thomas