Kincardine Township, ON

The Lake Range lots of both Kincardine Township and Bruce Township were surveyed in the fall of 1847. In the fall of 1848 and winter of 1849, Kincardine Township’s three concessions north and south of the Durham Road were surveyed as free grants. The town plot for the unincorporated village of Penetangore was also laid out in 1849 (later becoming part of the Village of Kincardine in 1858.) The remainder of Kincardine Township was surveyed in 1850.

Initially, this area was included in “The United Townships of Kincardine and the remaining Townships in the County of Bruce”, which was a union of 11 townships in 1852 and 1853, with the Kincardine Township area known as the “senior township” and the main hub for municipal government. This continued until the other townships were large enough to split off and incorporate as separate municipalities. In 1854, only Bruce and Kinloss Townships remained united with Kincardine Township. Kinloss Township left the union in 1855. On January 1, 1856, the Township of Bruce incorporated, leaving Kincardine Township as a separate municipality.

From within Kincardine Township’s geographical area, the Village of Kincardine incorporated in 1858.

The Township of Kincardine, the Town of Kincardine, and the Township of Bruce amalgamated to form the Township of Kincardine-Bruce-Tiverton on January 1, 1999.  After the first election of the new municipal council, the name changed to the Municipality of Kincardine.


Alexander, John Malcolm
Anderson, George McCrimmon
Barber, W.E.
Bell, Clifford William
Bell, Norval Delbert
Blackwell, Almira (Myra) Jane
Blackwell, Frederick Gamond
Bridge, Harold Percy
Brocklebank, George Thomas
Brown, John Peter
Buckingham, Clifford
Burns, Myrtle (MacDonald)
Burt, William Andrew
Bushell, Edbert Thompson
Cameron, Donald William
Campbell, Roy Oswald
Carroll, James
Carter, Leonard Bert
Clarke, William Keith
Cobean, William George
Colwell, Albert
Connell, Thomas Gordon
Currie, Frank
Daniel, Orwell James
Davey, William Harold
Dunlop, James Ernest
Dunlop, Robert David
Farrell, MC, John Brooks
Finlayson, John Stanley
Fraser, James Elgin
Fraser, William L.
Fry, George Henry
Fyfe, George Leith
Giesz, Maurice
Gossel, Edwin
Gray, Alexander Angus
Gray, John McKenzie
Hall, Frank
Henry, Ralph Ballantyne
Hopkins, Ernest Curtis
Hudson, John Wesley
Hurford, Robert Charles
Jarrell, John Lawrence
Jarrell, William Henry
Jennings, Herbert
Kelly, Myles Michael
Kincaid, Samuel
King, Charlotte Annette
Knight, George
Knox, Fred
Lewis, Henry Albert Walter
Linklater, Kenneth Harvey
Lough, Hubert Oberlin
Loveridge, Denis Llewellyn
MacArthur, George Duncan
MacDonald, Norman Stewart
MacKinnon, John
MacKinnon, John Alexander
MacKinnon, Malcolm
Mann, Charles William
Matheson, Archibald
Matheson, Kenneth Alexander
McConnell, William John
McDonald, Neil
McDonald, Norman John
McDougald, Arthur
McDougall, Donald Archibald
McFadyen, Duncan Franklin
McGaw, Dorne MacQuarrie
McGaw, Murdock William Mathieson
McKay, Paul McInnis
McKenzie, Walter Beaton
McLaren, Walter McNab
McLennan (MacLennan), Torrence
McLeod, John "Pickles" Shaw
McPhail, Daniel Harold
McPhail, Paul Alexander
McPherson, Albert Norman
Merritt, Charles Raymond
Moore, John William
Munro, John Jamieson
Nesbitt, John Henry
Norman, Angus
Parkinson, Gordon Charles
Peterbaugh, John Alexander
Porter, Edwin D.
Pym, John Warren "Jack"
Reynolds, Daniel Charles
Reynolds, John Arthur
Robinson, Andrew Ernest
Robinson, Archibald Cecil
Robinson, Thomas
Rowe, John MacIntosh
Rowe, Maurice Medcalf
Scott, Cecil Edgar
Scott, Edmund Fitton
Shewfelt, Delbert James
Shewfelt, Gilbert
Sinclair, John
Sinclair, Thomas Menzie
Smith, Donald James
Snowdon, Johnston Lawrence
Stanley, Lorne Lawrence
Stewart, Burton
Stewart, Edward
Stewart, James Archibald
Stringer, John Wilmer
Sturgeon, Frederick
Sturgeon, John Wesley
Sturgeon, Samuel Davidson
Thompson, Walter Haddington
Watson, John Robert
Welch, Harry William
White, Robert Milton
White, William James
Whitham, A.T.
Willis, Thomas George
Worthy, William Delmer