Elderslie Township, ON

The first Elderslie Township settlers, Simon Orchard and Samuel Rowe, arrived in spring 1851 via the Saugeen River. The township was surveyed in the summer of 1851 and lots opened for official occupation and sale in July 1852.

In 1853, when the United Townships of the County of Bruce dissolved, Elderslie Township united with Arran Township, with Arran as the senior township for municipal governance purposes. As of January 1, 1856, the union was dissolved and Elderslie Township became a separate and independent township.

Within Elderslie Township, the communities of both Chesley and Paisley developed, with Paisley first incorporating as a village by County by-law dated June 7, 1873. Chesley incorporated as a Village through County by-law passed December 12, 1879. In 1906, Chesley became a town.

In January 1999, Elderslie Township, Chesley, Paisley, Arran Township and Tara amalgamated to form the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie in January 1999.


Mika,Nick and Helma Mika. “Places in Ontario: Their Name Origins and History.” Belleville: Mika Publishing Company, 1977.

Robertson, Norman. “The History of the County of Bruce and of the minor municipalities therein.” Toronto: William Briggs, 1906.


Agnew, George
Agnew, James
Alpaugh, William Gordon Eric
Ankenmann, Richard Douglas (Bob)
Anstead, William Austin
Archer, Thomas
Atkinson, Roy Campbell
Babcock, Thomas
Bain, Donald James
Baker, Robert Frank
Ballachey, Frederic Allen
Bearman, Thomas Edward
Becker, John Herman
Bell, Joseph Wellington
Bell, Reuben Lawrence
Blackburn, John Robert
Boyle, Frank Stewart
Brown, Walter Clark
Bruegeman, Cecil Baden Powell
Burden, Edward
Cass, John Carlyle
Cocklin, Daniel
Collard, Reuben L.
Collins, Harold Francis
Cunningham, William
Davison, Samuel Melville
Douglas, John Miller
Dudgeon, William Lloyd
Eason, Irwin
Farrow, Herbert Garfield
Field, Edgar Austin
Finn, Herbert Stewart
Gardner, Harold Stanley
Grant, George Louis
Gray, Robert John
Green, George Leslie
Grierson, Mary Elizabeth
Hammond, William Harold
Hawkins, Frederick Clayton
Hayter, Frank Daniel
Hooey, Sidney Edward
Hughes, Harry James
Jack, Henry ("Harry")
Jackson, Melville Louden
Jay, Douglas Pierce
Johnson, Thomas Percy
Johnston, Herbert A.
Kidd, William Elijah
Lamont, George Robert
MacGregor, Howard Gladstone
Margree, William Henry Arthur
Mawhinney, Robert
McAfee, John
McAllister, Roy M.
McCaw, Thomas
McDonald, David
McDonald, James Hunter
McGillivray, Alexander C.
McGregor, Russell Bruce
McKechnie, Malcolm Archibald
McKelvie, Harvey Melvin
McKerracher, Duncan George
McKillop, Malcolm Archibald
McKinnon, John W.
McLaggan, William
McLean, Dugald
McLeish, Alexander Neil
McLeod / MacLeod, John Archibald ("Jack")
McNeel, Harlo Franklin
McNeill, Malcolm M.
McSporran, Donald
Megraw, Hugh
Miller, James
Monkman, Albert
Muir, George Harris
Nicholson, Mark
Nicoll, George William
Parker, Christopher
Parker, Horace
Parsons, Ernest
Patterson, Fred
Pearce, Emerson Albert
Pepper, Garland Rae
Phillips, Jasper Clifton (Babe)
Pound, John Alfred
Primmer, Ken Albert
Robinson, Peter
Rolston, John
Rolston, Wilfred Burton
Scobie, David
Sloan, Archibald McNeill
Sloan, Thomas Edgar
Slumskie, Rendall (Ren) Emerson
Small, James Maurice
Stewart, James Downing
Stoddart, Clarence John
Stoddart, Lorne
Switzer, George Edward
Switzer, Milford William
Thomas, Charles William
Thomson, Samuel Leslie
Wagner, Melville "Ross"
Walks, John David
White, William James
Whitmann, Herbert
Winch, Henry Oscar
Winch, Leslie
Wood, Walter
Woodbridge, Samuel Baldwin
Woods, John
Woods, Thomas Alexander
Wright, Ernest George
Young, John Arnold
Young, Joseph "Joe" Wilbert